Our Winter Study seminar on the Diversity Initiatives has concluded. See how much fun we had last year. Check out our syllabus. Click on a name to see the discussant’s comments on the assigned reading, along with the resulting conversation.

David Kane ’88 on Introduction by President Morty Schapiro.

Professor James McAllister on Ideological Diversity.

Reed Wideower ’00 on Student Recruitment and Admission by Director of Admissions Dick Nesbitt.

David Rodriquez ’06 on Student Input.

Diana Davis ’07 on Student Experiences and Support Services by Provost Cappy Hill, Dean of the College Nancy Roseman, et al.

Lowell Jacobson ’03 on Curriculum by Professor Stephen Tifft.

Whitney Wilson ’90 on Faculty Recruitment, Retention and Satisfaction by John Gerry, Associate Dean of the Faculty.

Ronit Bhattacharyya ’07 on Alumni by Paula Moore Tabor, Associate Director of Alumni Relations.

Noah Smith-Drelich ’07 on Orientation and Ongoing Education by Gail Bouknight-Davis, Director of the Multicultural Center.

Jeff Zeeman ’97 on College Procedures by Nancy McIntire, Assistant to the President for Affirmative Action and Government Relations.

Ken Thomas ’93 on Consultants’ Report by Kimberly Goff-Crews, Dean of Students, Wellesley College.

Professor KC Johnson on Consultants’ Report by Evelyn Hu-DeHart, Professor of History and Ethnic Studies and Director, Center for the Study of Race and Ethnicity in America, Brown University.

Beides these featured discussions, we also discussed related issues here, here and here, among other places.

Thanks to Ronit Bhattacharyya ’07, Diana Davis ’07, Lowell Jacobson ’03, Professor KC Johnson, David Rodriguez ’06, Noah Smith-Drelich ’07, Ken Thomas ’93, Reed Wideower ’00, Whitney Wilson ’90 and Jeff Zeeman ’97 for volunteering to be discussants.

Suggestions for next year’s topic are welcome.

Print  •  Email