- EphBlog - http://ephblog.com -

Tyng Details

This Questbridge page provides interesting details on the Tyng Scholarship.

The Stephen H. Tyng Scholarship was established in 1940 through the bequest of Mrs. Juliet Tyng, in memory of both her husband and son. These scholarships are the most distinctive and prestigious awards presented each year to six to eight of the most promising scholars in the first-year class.

Tyng Scholar aid packages are designed to meet a student’s demonstrated need, primarily with scholarship assistance, for each year at Williams. Further assistance is available for up to three years of graduate or professional school or the equivalent of summer study or research at the graduate level. Since all applicants who qualify for aid are considered as candidates for the Tyng, no additional application is required.

Of important note for Tyng Scholars:

* There is no required work-study
* Student loan amounts are always $1,000 less than the standard loan expectation (which is determined by the level of their parent contribution)
* Outside scholarships can be used to reduce the loan expectation. Once the student loan is eliminated, the balance reduces the Tyng Scholarship dollar for dollar. Outside scholarships do not replace the summer income contribution.
* Loan expectations do increase from year to year (although lower income students who bring in some outside scholarships can find themselves with a zero loan debt at graduation).
* Aid applications will be reviewed every year. This means that your financial aid package can vary from year to year, costs can increase, and family contributions can change.
* Students are expected to contribute 25% of their personal savings and investments each year.


1) The College’s continuing refusal to admit that the Tyng is a merit scholarship is dishonest.

2) Given the College’s difficulty in attracting African-American applicants with Williams caliber credentials, the Tyng should be focused on them. Why isn’t it, I wonder?

3) Can anyone explain who chooses Tyng winners and what criteria are used? More transparency, please.

Comments Disabled (Open | Close)

Comments Disabled To "Tyng Details"

#1 Comment By frank uible On October 21, 2007 @ 10:09 am

Do we have time and space to list all the instances of the College’s dishonesty?

#2 Comment By Henry Bass ’57 On October 21, 2007 @ 10:32 am


In our day in the 50’s when compulsary chapel or the equivalent at loal churches or a student led Jewish service was being debated by the faculty the administration told us that we had to have it since the Thompson bequest for Thompson Memorail Chapel had required that Williams make some religion compulsory. They had used this excuse for compulsory religion for many years. A senior member of the faculty demanded to see the paper work such as the Thompson bequest. Whereupon the adminstration just admitted there was no such provision.

I would hate for us to even try to document Pinocchio syndrom of the adminstration over the last half century. I will only say that the faculty has some responsibility for permiting the adminstration to get away with it.

#3 Comment By anonymouse On October 21, 2007 @ 10:33 am

Is the Tyng scholarship an Afro scholarship?

What has Tyng to do with Afro’s to begin with?


What nonsense!

You are about as opaque as you appear to be.

Have you read the Tyng’s bequest?

It appears David that you have a bias for the Tyng thing.

#4 Comment By frank uible On October 21, 2007 @ 12:27 pm

Similar to politics. As a matter of fact it is a sort of politics.

#5 Comment By Henry Bass ’57 On October 21, 2007 @ 1:43 pm

The Alum vote for the administers of the Tyng bequest. There is a town near Lowell called Tyngsboro,named for a Colonel Tyng. I have always guessed it is the same family.

#6 Comment By Anonymous On October 22, 2007 @ 1:59 am

If need is a prerequisite, it is not a merit scholarship. If students who do not qualify for (or did not apply for) financial aid cannot receive this scholarship, as I have always believed to be the case, it is not purely a merit scholarship.

If it is not a merit scholarship, it should not be touted as “prestigious” without making clear that financial need is a prerequisite. That is unfair to the many highly qualified students who do not qualify to be recognized with this award solely because they have not demonstrated financial need.

#7 Comment By Anonymous On October 23, 2007 @ 3:35 am

I can appreciate the comfort when needed. You have my sympathies. Fairness is ineffective within egalitarian contraints.